Selected study unit - Europa Study Unit

The first stamps in what has come to be the Europa series were issued in 1956 from the six founding members of the European Coal and Steel Community: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. In that year, the six countries issued several stamps with a common design. In 1957 the Europa concept was continued but sponsored by the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT), an organization now known as PostEurop; the 1957 stamps followed a theme rather than a common design. Common designs were again used from 1958 to 1973. Since then Europa stamps every year have followed a common theme, except for 1984 and 2000 when common designs were used. Up to 60 countries have participated in the last few years. The Europa Study Unit studies this annually growing series of stamp issues, with an emphasis on philatelic manifestations of the Europa ideal of socioecononomic and political integration across the continent. Membership in the Europa Study Unit includes a subscription to the bimonthly Europa News, access to Europa auctions, new issue news, as well as access to a members-only section of the website, that features an archive of the unit's journal, checklists and more.

   Study Unit